VDM® Alloy C-276 (2.4819/N10276)

VDM® Alloy C-276 is a nickel-chrome-molybdenum alloy with tungsten. It is characterized by an extraordinary resistance across a wide range of corrosive, watery media; in particular oxidizing and reducing acids. VDM® Alloy C-276 shows particularly high resistance against chloride-induced crevice, pitting and stress corrosion.

Characteristics of VDM® Alloy C-276

VDM® Alloy C-276 (2.4819/N10276) can be used in many chemical processes with both oxidizing as well as reducing media. The high chrome and molybdenum concentrations make the alloy resistant to chloride ion attacks. The tungsten content further increases this resistance.

VDM® Alloy C-276 is one of the few materials that are resistant against chlorine gas, hypo-chlorite and chlorine dioxide solutions. The alloy is characterized by excellent resistance against concentrated solutions of oxidizing salts (such as iron III and copper chloride).

oil rig

Applications of VDM® Alloy C-276

VDM® Alloy C-276 has a broad field of application in the chemicals and petrochemicals industry, for components in organic processes containing chlorides, and for catalytic systems. The material can be used especially in cases where hot, contaminated mineral acids, solutions or organic acids (such as formic acid and acetic acid) and sea water occur. 

Examples of applications:

  • Paper and pulp industry, e.g. for digestion and bleaching tanks
  • Washers, agitators and wet ventilators in flue gas desulfurization systems  
  • Equipment and components for acid gas applications
  • Reactors for acetic acid production
  • Sulfuric acid coolers 
  • Methylene diphenyl isocyanate (MDI)
  • Manufacturing and processing of contaminated phosphoric acid

Available Product forms

You will find a detailed list about available product forms and sizes of VDM® Alloy C-276 (2.4819/N10276) in our data sheet.

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!

VDM Metals
VDM Metals Service Line vCard
Route VDM Metals International GmbH Plettenberger Str. 2 58791 Werdohl

VDM® Alloy C-276 (2.4819/N10276)

VDM® Alloy C-276 ist eine Nickel-Chrom-Molybdän-Legierung mit Wolfram. Sie zeichnet sich aus durch eine außergewöhnliche Beständigkeit gegenüber einem weiten Bereich korrosiver, wässriger Medien, insbesondere oxidierender und reduzierender Säuren aus. VDM® Alloy C-276 weist eine besonders gute Beständigkeit gegen chloridinduzierte Spalt-, Loch- und Spannungsrisskorrosion auf.  

Eigenschaften von VDM® Alloy C-276

VDM® Alloy C-276 (2.4819/N10276) kann in vielen chemischen Prozessen sowohl mit oxidierenden als auch reduzierenden Medien ein-gesetzt werden. Die hohen Gehalte an Chrom und Molybdän machen die Legierung beständig gegen Chloridionenangriff. Der Wolframgehalt erhöht diese Beständigkeit noch.

VDM® Alloy C-276 ist einer der wenigen Werkstoffe, der beständig gegen feuchtes Chlorgas, Hypochlorit und Chlordioxid-Lösungen ist. Die Legierung weist ausgezeichnete Beständigkeit gegen konzentrierte Lösungen oxidierender Salze (wie Eisen III- und Kupferchlorid) auf.

Drilling platform

Anwendungsgebiete von VDM® Alloy C-276

VDM® Alloy C-276 findet ein weites Anwendungsfeld in der chemischen und petrochemischen Industrie, für Komponenten in organischen Prozessen, die Chloride enthalten, sowie für Katalysatoren. Der Werkstoff ist besonders geeignet, wenn heiße, verunreinigte mineralische Säuren, Lösungen oder organische Säuren (wie Ameisen- und Essigsäure) sowie Seewasser auftreten.

Beispielhafte Einsatzgebiete sind:

  • die Papier- und Zellstoffindustrie, z. B. für Aufschluss- und Bleichbehälter
  • Wäscher, Rührwerke sowie nassgehende Ventilatoren in Rauchgasentschwefelungsanlagen 
  • Einrichtungen und Komponenten für Sauergasanwendung 
  • Reaktoren für die Essigsäureproduktion 
  • Schwefelsäure-Kühler 
  • Methylendiphenylisocyanate (MDI) 
  • die Herstellung und Verarbeitung verunreinigter Phosphorsäure

Lieferbare Produktformen

Eine genaue Übersicht über lieferbare Produktformen und Abmessungen von VDM® Alloy C-276 (2.4819/N10276) finden Sie in unserem Datenblatt.

Haben Sie Fragen? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

VDM Metals
VDM Metals Service Line Visitenkarte
Route VDM Metals International GmbH Plettenberger Str. 2 58791 Werdohl