VDM® Alloy 718 (2.4668/N07718)

VDM® Alloy 718 is an age hardenable nickel-chrome-iron-molybdenum alloy. The age hardening is achieved by specific additions of niobium, titanium and aluminum. It can be delivered in solution-annealed or hardened condition.

Characteristics of VDM® Alloy 718

VDM® Alloy 718 (2.4668/N07718) is characterized by:

  • Good processing properties in the solution-annealed condition
  • Good mechanical short and long-term properties, and great fatigue strength in the age hardened condition

  • Good creep resistance up to 700 °C (1,300 °F)
  • Good oxidation resistance up to approx. 1,000°C (1,830 °F)
  • Excellent mechanical properties in low temperatures
turbine

Applications of VDM® Alloy 718

Based on its high-temperature resistance up to 700 °C (1,300 °F), its excellent oxidation and corrosion resistance, and its good workability, VDM® Alloy 718 is used in many demanding applications. Originally, it was developed and used for static and rotating components in aircraft turbines such as housings, mounting elements and turbine disks, where tough requirements apply for creep resistance and fatigue behavior, in particular for the rotating applications.

Due to its properties, its good workability and efficiency, the material is additionally widely used for static and rotating components in stationary gas turbines, rocket drives and spacecraft, motor vehicle turbo chargers, high-strength screws, springs and mounting elements, and for heat-resistant tools in forgeries, extruders and separating shearers.

Available product forms

You will find a detailed list about available product forms and sizes of VDM® Alloy 718 (2.4668/N07718) in our data sheet.

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!

VDM Metals
VDM Metals Service Line vCard
Route VDM Metals International GmbH Plettenberger Str. 2 58791 Werdohl

VDM® Alloy 718 (2.4668/N07718)

VDM® Alloy 718 ist eine aushärtbare Nickel-Chrom-Eisen-Molybdän-Legierung. Die Aushärtbarkeit wird durch Zusätze von Niob, Titan und Aluminium erreicht. Sie kann im lösungsgeglühten Zustand oder lösungsgeglüht und ausgehärtet geliefert werden. 

Eigenschaften von VDM® Alloy 718

VDM® Alloy 718 (2.4668/N07718) ist gekennzeichnet durch:

  • gute Verarbeitungseigenschaften im lösungsgeglühten Zustand
  • gute mechanische Kurz- und Langzeiteigenschaften und hohe Ermüdungsfestigkeit im ausgehärteten Zustand
  • gute Zeitstandfestigkeit bis 700 °C
  • gute Oxidationsbeständigkeit bis ca. 1.000 °C
  • ausgezeichnete mechanische Eigenschaften bei tiefen Temperaturen 
turbine

Anwendungsgebiete von VDM® Alloy 718

Aufgrund seiner Hochtemperaturfestigkeit bis 700 °C, seiner exzellenten Oxidations- und Korrosionsbeständigkeit und seiner guten Verarbeitbarkeit wird VDM® Alloy 718 für viele anspruchsvolle Anwendungen eingesetzt. Ursprünglich wurde er für statische und rotierende Komponenten in Flugtriebwerken wie Gehäuse, Befestigungselemente und Turbinenscheiben entwickelt und eingesetzt, wo insbesondere für die rotierenden Anwendungen hohe Anforderungen an Kriechfestigkeit und Ermüdungsverhalten bestehen.

Aufgrund seiner Eigenschaften, seiner guten Verarbeitbarkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit wird der Werkstoff daneben verbreitet für statische und rotierende Komponenten in stationären Gasturbinen, Raketentriebwerken und Raumfahrzeugen, Kraftfahrzeug-Turboladern, hochfesten Schrauben, Federn und Befestigungselementen sowie für warmfeste Werkzeuge für Schmieden, Strangpressen und Trennscheren verwendet.

Lieferbare Produktformen

Eine genaue Übersicht über lieferbare Produktformen und Abmessungen von VDM® Alloy 718 (2.4668/N07718) finden Sie in unserem Datenblatt.

Haben Sie Fragen? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

VDM Metals
VDM Metals Service Line Visitenkarte
Route VDM Metals International GmbH Plettenberger Str. 2 58791 Werdohl